Sex Offenders Must Register
The North Carolina Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry was established in January 1996 due to the General Assembly's enactment of Article 27A of Chapter 14 of the North Carolina General Statutes (NCGS 14-208.5). This law requires a person who is a resident of North Carolina and who has a reportable conviction to maintain registration with the sheriff of the county where the person resides. If the person moves to North Carolina from outside this State, the person shall register within 10 days of establishing residence in this State, or whenever the person has been present in the State for 15 days, whichever comes first.
The site is maintained by the NC State Bureau of Investigation (SBI).
You can search the registry by Zip Code, City, County, Status of offender, and name of offender.
It is always a good idea to know what is in your neighborhood, or your child's school neighborhood.
Nichols Law Firm Website